Lawn Care Forum banner

Getting estimates

4K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  OakNut 
#1 ·
Has anyone ever called up competitors to get estimates on yards to see what competitors are charging. I hate to waste others time when they wont be hired but im just trying to get a feel for what others charge so i know what to charge because im new to the business

#2 ·
No because they may have to drive more maybe less. Maybe their mower isn't as efficient. You decide your price based off of cost and profit. Make every job so that you get a certain amount of money for yourself after all your equipment has been made whole and something's been saved for repairs and new gear.

#4 ·
rowdy, check out this site, for some great base lines for you to start your estimates with.

I have it bookmarked on my laptop, and on my tablet, too, so that I can do estimates in the field easily. Also, I find Zillow to be pretty useful, too, as it gives square footage of lots in their property description summary.

If I can figure out how to make the calculator work on my blackberry tablet, I will buy the app, too.

#5 ·
Thats pretty shady... would you like people doing that to you?
I have felt the same way, but have repeatedly heard that give as advice. When I was working in retail management, and working 90 hour weeks, we had a lawn service. I used that as a starting point for jobs I have done. So far I have been shot down a few times with that estimate, and I am okay with it. But, once I found this site, and a few others, I have found the wealth of information found here to be the best tool available. Sometimes I get underbid, especially for cleanup jobs, and sometimes I don't. but I know that when I leave the job site, it will look good when I am finished, and I can't say that for some of the sites where I was underbid. $100 for 1/4 acre of waist high and higher grass behind a narrow gate? The client no longer has the high grass, but the back yard still looks like garbage.

#7 ·