Google ranking

Discussion in 'Digital Marketing' started by Richard.E.Buck, Aug 22, 2018.

1. Richard.E.Buck

Richard.E.Buck LawnSite Member

I am starting my business soon and have been putting a lot of time into my website. I have been working on SEO, yet I am not ranking on google. My pages have all been indexed and are being crawled. I am very new to this, and cant figure out what I am doing wrong. If I search my business name, it comes right up. If I search "Lawn care and landscaping company in Hinesville GA", nothing comes up. Thanks for you help ahead of time. www.eliteedgelandscaping.com

Tara Ann likes this.
  2. tonygreek

tonygreek LawnSite Platinum Member

Looks like you haven't posted on lawnsite in years. Have you taken some time to read through the Digital Marketing sub forum, aka the web sub? I'd highly recommend reading old site reviews as they'll be applicable and of help to you. (I'll ping the mods to get this thread moved there.)

In the meantime, to get you pointed in the right direction...

- Did you create a Google Search Console (formerly called Webmaster Tools) account? If not, do so, submit a site map, and see what recommendations it gives you, as well as what the revised search index results look like.

- As it is, you have some technical issues with Google and how it indexes your site. Do a site search in Google and you'll see what I mean. Hit google and enter "site:domainname.com" and "site:www.domainname.com Notice the difference in results?

- Convert your site to HTTPS (secure encryption via an SSL certificate). Best to do it now so visitors don't get the "Not Secure" warning they currently do and, since it's a new site, it won't require a ton of changes for you. https://support.hostgator.com/categories/ssl-certificates

- Look into optimizing Wordpress for better performance. It's a low weight home page, but it's brutally slow, likely due to optimization and an overtaxed web server (common with the discount hosts).