Got my first soil test, where do I start

nickmell

LawnSite Member
Finally got around to getting my first soil test to start improving my yard and am not really sure where to start. I'm in zone 5b and have roughly 3 acres I'm working to turn into a decent lawn. It was old pasture land so it's a mix of different grasses and weeds but I've been mowing it for 2 years now so it's getting alot better.

Attachments

Crazy 4 grass

LawnSite Fanatic
What has your maintenance program currently been? Have you been fertilizing? Have you been spraying for weeds? Have you been putting down any sort of crabgrass pre-emergent in the spring?

If the answer is no to all these questions here is what I would do.

I would immediately put down a first application of granular fertilizer with dimension crabgrass pre-emergent. This will thicken things up and prevent crabgrass.

I just did this application to my own yard this week I am mowing about 2 Acres.

Next I would get a tow behind sprayer and spray the entire lawn with T-Zone. This will clear out all of the broadleaf weed competition.

In September I would plan to overseed the entire lawn. If you do not have irrigation try to time this before a rain on the forecast.

Put down a fertilizer application with the overseed and then another fertilizer application about a month later in October.

Follow this exact program for the next two years and you will be blown away

OP
N

nickmell

LawnSite Member
What has your maintenance program currently been? Have you been fertilizing? Have you been spraying for weeds? Have you been putting down any sort of crabgrass pre-emergent in the spring?

If the answer is no to all these questions here is what I would do.

I would immediately put down a first application of granular fertilizer with dimension crabgrass pre-emergent. This will thicken things up and prevent crabgrass.

I just did this application to my own yard this week I am mowing about 2 Acres.