1. Maintaining Company Culture During Stressful Times

How do you maintain a positive company culture during a time of social distancing, economic uncertainty, and health worries? Click here to learn more.

Dismiss Notice

Gravely 2010 ZT52HD Engine Replacement

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Tws1977, Jun 24, 2020.

1. Tws1977

Tws1977 LawnSite Member

I need to have the engine replaced in my 2010 Gravely ZT52HD. The original engine is the Kawasaki FR691V. The mower is in pretty good shape still. I believe it's worth replacing the engine but I'm leaning toward going with a less expensive engine since the mower is 10 years old. Here's the kicker: I want to do the replacement myself. I'm not a professional mechanic but I have maintained my equipment and performed repairs that didn't require special tools or specialized knowledge.
    1. Can you recommend a replacement engine that will save me significant money vs a Kawasaki that will not require major modifications for installation? (Briggs?)
    2. Do you know of any online resources that might walk me through the process, even if not my exact application?

Thank you!

2. Mac-s Lawn & Snow

Mac-s Lawn & Snow LawnSite Senior Member

Start looking at the Harbor Freight 22hp Predator motor. You need to figure out the crankshaft size and length for the clutch on your motor and match it to the new motor to start your search for a replacement motor.

Tws1977 likes this.
  3. Justin Hightower

Justin Hightower LawnSite Member