Grow or keep it small?

iumichael

LawnSite Member
Hi all,

Third season of mostly lawn maintenance here. Currently just my teenage nephew and I doing maybe 20 hours a week on average working as a 2 man crew (includes travel time between customers). Currently a sole proprietor business structure, insured, but just paying him cash and no payroll headaches. A year ago we were doing $1500-$2000/month in revenue and maybe 10-12 hours a week. This year $4k-$5k/month revenue. I've done zero advertising this year and increased prices and still seen sales jump nicely.

I currently have an office job at a university with decent pay and good benefits. I hate to leave it, but the potential for the business is looking better and better. Also, my day job is pretty dull.

I'm single, no kids, 42. I hate winters in Indiana and try to escape somewhere tropical for at least a month around January or February. This was originally just for a little extra money to sock away for retirement, or to supplement my income when I retire around 52 hopefully.

I see more mowing crews everywhere around here than ever, but I'm not having any trouble at all picking up customers without even advertising. So maybe the market isn't saturated here somehow. I'm probably a little on the cheap side ($35-$40 for .25 acres per mow, $60-$65 for .5 acre, a couple of 2 acre properties for $160 per mow). A split of about 50/50 on weekly vs. bi-weekly customers.

I always said I would keep this small and not hire employees. However, it's getting tempting. I don't think I'd leave my day job until I could make enough to replace my current salary and benefits, but don't want to start turning down good customers either.

I really don't have a good feel for insuring employees to drive company trucks. Is it a minor expense or major?