Growing business pains

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bulliebullybull, Jul 20, 2019.

1. bulliebullybull

bulliebullybull LawnSite Member

Started off as a side gig now I’m expanding beyond my current lonesome capabilities. I need to hire and expand for large commercial contracts possibilities. Started off just doing odd lawn and excavation jobs. Did everything from putting up fences to mowing horse fields. I’m a nurse and respiratory therapist by trade. I need and love working outdoors though.

2. Cam15

Cam15 LawnSite Silver Member

Nice meeting you bulliebullybull, crazy name btw. Ive been doing this for a couple of years now and am loving it! Id say the biggest thing is, is before you get to big make sure your maximizing profits cutting off the fat as they say. Making sure you have a good customer base. Tons of great information on Lawn Site, hope your season goes well!

3. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member

Read this forum before you dream big and give up a good career. Most of us dreamed big and loved being outside.

4. RussellB

RussellB LawnSite Fanatic

Cam, you sound wise beyond your years. Thumbs Up Do you have plans for college?

MattZ28, Cam15 and Charles like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    bulliebullybull

Guess should have been more specific. Been doing healthcare for 25 years and getting burned out. Business has grown to point I have to decide if or not to take the gamble and invest my full time effort in to it. I’m bidding on large county jobs now and will not be able to do alone or part time. It will mean more investment money wise also. Guess I’m looking at it as my red zone retirement plan. Do what I enjoy for another 10-15 years and bail.

Cam15 likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    bulliebullybull