1. Can’t make it to the GIE+EXPO 2017?
    LawnSite brings the trade show floor to your fingertips with our new GIE+EXPO 2017 Sneak Peek video series debuting now in the Lawn Mowing forum.

Dismiss Notice

Growing the business or no. Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by cjonesy32, Sep 13, 2017.

1. cjonesy32

cjonesy32 LawnSite Member
    Male

Hey guys!

So we are now into September and this has been my first "official" year of landscaping. I gotta tell ya which I'm sure a lot of y'all have experienced, it is great when things are great ..lol. Anyway. I am posting in search of advice of or some type of guidance.

My main career is in law enforcement. I've been doing it now for a little over 3 years. I have always been the one who said "why make someone else rich? Find a way to make something out of yourself". I have always done lawn care for friends and family but nothing on the scale I'm at now. I started my business this past March and as predicted, I only had about 3 yards for the first two or three months. Maybe one or two landscaping jobs. Also! Keep in mind I chose to go full force with my business while also being a cop because of the schedule I had. I work 4 days on ..4 days off every week and I could tell you what shift I'm working 5 years from now. So on those 4 days off I would plan and schedule jobs. I have made sure every customer knew prior to hiring me that I am in law enforcement and with that and the weather the cuttings could be pushed back. ( I haven't had a yard go past more than 3 days it was originally scheduled)