Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i was just wondering do any of you use hand cutters to trim shrubs, i was driving by a bank and saw another LCO trimming shrubs with hand cutters, not those little ones with the 1/2 in blades but the one with like a foot long balde on them, I couldnt understand why the gas cutters wouldnt be more efficent I know they must do this permanently because I saw them doing it a a resedential afew weeks ago, is there any benefeit to them doing this???

·
Registered
332 Posts
I'm relatively new to the business, but I use hand-shears on a lot of trimming jobs. Once I get an Echo Pole-Trimmer I may change my mind, but I can fly with them and they make it a lot easier to get a precise cut... for me.

I am pretty sure that gas trimmers or not, I will still use the hand shears from time to time.

·
Registered
628 Posts
It always amazes me at how many people in this business think it is ok to use gas powered prunners on ALL shrubs.

This is not directed at anyone who has responded to this or any other post.

Certain shrubs can be power prunned and that is the best way, other shrubs need to be hand prunned. One type of shrub in one setting may get power prunned but the same shrub in another setting may get hand prunned. How do you power cut a deceduious shrub and cut it 1/8 to 1/4 from the new terminal bud without cutting all the leaves in half. can not be done. this is where you need to hand prune. Power prunners can cause a greater disease and insect invasion.

I am not against power prunners as I have multiple sets but also have a bucket full of the felco hand prunners as well.

All I am saying is that in certian situations calls for different prunning skills. We also use the long bladed hand shears as the man from the original post was using. Sometimes these are good to use by windows of office building where the noise needs to be limited.