• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Help for a new homeowner with a sloping yard, please

forbin09

LawnSite Member
Just found this forum and the amount of experience of the members here all added together would likely
be astronomical.

I bought this house in November and I wasn't giving much consideration to having to mow this.
NOW, I am totally intimidated and wondering if I can do this because I have Zero experience on a riding mower of any kind.
I've always pushed a mower around a small yard.

I measured the slope as best I could with a 2x4, level, and a tape measure.
If I calculated correctly it's only 15 degrees but it sure looks steeper.

The back is slightly less steep but if I break loose I will end up in the ravine.

So, here are my questions:

1. If it's only 15 degrees can I still mow horizontally, which would be a lot easier because there are no really flat spots at the top or bottom where I can maneuver?

2. Is a Ztr appropriate for me in light of my lack of experience?

3. What strategy would You use to mow this lawn?

A WB is probably out of the question because I have health problems that will limit the amount of time I can spend on my feet.

Ironically, I thought buying an acreage would be helpful because I could sit on a riding mower instead of pushing a mower around on a hot day.

Last edited:

KPW LawnCare

LawnSite Senior Member
First thing is what is your price range you are looking to spend on a mower of some sort?

OP
F

forbin09

LawnSite Member
First thing is what is your price range you are looking to spend on a mower of some sort?
I hadn't really planned to spend more than $5,000 but I may have to rethink that.

If it's much more than $5,000 I might just pay someone to mow it until I can sell the house and move.

KPW LawnCare

LawnSite Senior Member