Honda HRX timing belt issues?

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Prime, Mar 3, 2017.

1. Prime

Prime LawnSite Member

I have been using hrx lawn mowers for most of 10 years now, no serious issues, normal maintenance. I run them to 6-700 hours and sell them and replace. Last fall when preparing my mower for storage, oil change and cleanup, I hit an issue. After finishing up I decided to stat the engine one last time. Engine started for maybe 2 seconds then I could not restart. Checked everything I could think of and found nothing. So I take it to the dealer. Im told the timing belt needs to be replaced.... at a cost of +$350. estimated. Wow this engine has only 140 hours on it. (I put hour meters on all my gear) This is virtually a new mower. I have yet to get the mower back so Im not sure of the exact cost of this repair. Is anyone else having trouble with honda timing belts? I really like honda mowers on my 6th HRX but this may move me to change over to another brand.

2. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

Well learning something i didn't know they had timing belt? I have seen them break off shear key affecting timing.

3. oqueoque

oqueoque LawnSite Silver Member
    Male, from Jersey

Where is the timing belt? the only belt I see is the one that is above the blades, and is turned by the mower engine and goes to the transmission.
    I could never get transmissions on these to last much more than a year and the dealer wanted about $350 to replace the trans. ( I do not know why font has changed either)

4. BigFish

BigFish LawnSite Gold Member

Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  5. dishboy

dishboy LawnSite Platinum Member
    from zone 6

Sounds like a new engine price not a repair price.

6. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

7. Prime

Prime LawnSite Member

i never gave it much thought until it failed.

8. Prime

Prime LawnSite Member