How many Lawns can you comfortably mow in a day Solo?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawntkd, Apr 11, 2016.

1. Lawntkd

Lawntkd LawnSite Member

This is my first year full time. I'm thinking about setting a cap at 10 as far as a regular schedule. I think that's doable, maybe some of you do more?

The parameters of this question is a 36-inch walk behind with sulky and mowing regular size Suburban homes. The biggest yards being a regular corner lot. Also not wanting to work more than 8 hours on a regular basis.

2. honda55

honda55 LawnSite Member

Impossible to say without size and all properties are different.

I have a helper or 2 with me now, but back when I was solo, I managed 21 one day during a catch up (Smaller development 1/4 acre to a 1/3) and in clusters. Should comfortable be able to do a regular development lawn in 30 min, so a cluster or 2 and you should be at 13-16 a day pretty easy

As far as only 8 hours, might as well work an office job.... If there's money out there need to make it during the season while you can. Rest in off season.

Not saying kill yourself working 15 hours a day, but 10-11 won't kill you.

Marine03112, biodale, ltdlawn and 2 others like this.
  3. Lawntkd

Lawntkd LawnSite Member

Yeah, 8hrs is what I'm thinking now but, when it really hits its not like I'm going to leave money on the table.. We'll see what happens. But an office job? $10-11 an hour? No thanks.Even at $14 an hour...no thanks.

I've always worked for myself anyways.

4. Hill Lawn Care

Hill Lawn Care LawnSite Member

I have a similar cap of 10. Right now I'm at 8 lawns 3 days a week. It's not bad as they are very close together. You have to account for speed and things like rain or illness. I would say solo, max 15-16. Otherwise you'll kill yourself and If you get rained out you'll have 40+ the next day.

voslawn and johnfaria68 like this.
  5. DA Quality Lawn & YS

DA Quality Lawn & YS LawnSite Fanatic