Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was looking at those wages and thinking every time I do a job I pay my guys 15-18 an hr and there 19-23 am I paying to much? Im a Journeyman Carpenter making 34.75 an hr but would rather start my own buisness. As long as work is good I have great benefits and can bank my hours as credit for slow months would it be smart for me to start my own buisness or stay with Carpentry?

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
yeah its union. Im 25 and have been doing sod for my 2nd job for over 5 years. I mean grossing 1390 a week aint bad but i always thought I could make more working for my self. I do miss the double time and overtime. I would hate to have to think I would pay my guys alot more but they are all yooung and are already complaining about there wage or at least my main guy. I told im to wait till I pick up the pace to 40 hr week and we will see how he does then. I didnt decribe the work but its sod installation. How do I tell my workers your just laborer and not the brains of the operation(me) cause they are making more in one day with me then they are there minimum wage week long jobs or part time jobs.

·
Registered
701 Posts
You are the boss, he either works for what you offer him or he gets replaced. 15-18/hr ain't bad at all. If he keeps up his demand and you don't want to send him packing, offering a cost-of-living raise which equates to average annual inflation (3%) and that it kicks in after you're up to forty hours.
Just my $.02 worth

·
Registered
160 Posts