How would you rate my bidding?

JackJohnson2323

LawnSite Member
I live on the upper east coast, so wave a good amount of rain. So far I have been lucky getting rain on days I’m not mowing so it keeps growing. For a residential smaller yard I’m around 35-40, slightly bigger around 50-60 and big yard around 75-85. I did one last night took 3 hours and I charged 120 cash.

mulching: I charge around 90( if no edging or anything else besides mulching)-150 per yard if that includes hills, edging, weeding, bush trimming, etc.

my problem is, I don’t know how to bid on other jobs. Am I to use an hourly rate and guess how many hours it will take? Say for example a shrub trimming job where I haul the trimmings. Would I charge by bush or by hourly rate?

also. Is 45$ hourly rate too low? All of my customers consistently tell me I do an amazing job with what I can do. Would you raise it or is that about average? I’m a solo operator at this point,

Jeff@diyokc

LawnSite Senior Member
Quantify what you consider “ big yard”? Acre? 2acres?

I consider those prices low, but I nor anyone else knows your overhead, labor burden, etc. based on your post.

Joana Williams

LawnSite Senior Member
I live on the upper east coast, so wave a good amount of rain. So far I have been lucky getting rain on days I’m not mowing so it keeps growing. For a residential smaller yard I’m around 35-40, slightly bigger around 50-60 and big yard around 75-85. I did one last night took 3 hours and I charged 120 cash.

mulching: I charge around 90( if no edging or anything else besides mulching)-150 per yard if that includes hills, edging, weeding, bush trimming, etc.

my problem is, I don’t know how to bid on other jobs. Am I to use an hourly rate and guess how many hours it will take? Say for example a shrub trimming job where I haul the trimmings. Would I charge by bush or by hourly rate?