How you guys doing in your first year?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Drake22, Jun 14, 2018.

1. Drake22

Drake22 LawnSite Member

Hello, been following the forum for a while now. First time posting. Just curious how everyone else's year is going? This is my first year In the business. I've always loved mowing. I started the year of with 0 costumers with a stihl trimmer I already had, no blower, and I crappy puoulin pro push mower. Scored a few clients off of Facebook ads and before I knew it word spread and in a few months I am currently up to 22 costumers. Landed one big rock job (remove and replace 11 tons). To me seemed big. After about two weeks my mower took a crap ( used it on my moms yard growing up for years) so I picked up a Honda self propel. Working great so far. Also picked up a bg55 stihl handheld blower. About two weeks ago a quite my job once I reached 15 clients. Since then have picked up another 7.

Started out working out of my Kia Soul and just folding the seats down and just picked up a 1998 s10 with 115k miles the other day. (Working great so far for the small setup I am using) I guess I'm just loving the work and things seam to be growing fast. I am in the works of getting insurance and legalizing my company ( have heard some gravel/ mulch hit cars/houses) can't stand the idea of actually damaging someone else's property even though I know we try not to it seems inevitable over time. Sorry for the long post just curious how everyone else is doing there first year in business? (I plan on picking up a full time job during the off season for the first couple years, until I can get the right setup to hopefully be a profitable one man operation)

2. Rockbridge Lawn Care LLC

Rockbridge Lawn Care LLC LawnSite Senior Member

sounds like your off to a good start.

Word to the wise tho...if you win every job then your pricing yourself to low, regardless of where the lead came from.