• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

I know this is one of those no one wants to answer but....

F150LawnGuy95

LawnSite Senior Member
i just finalized my income statement for the year. I am in TN so luckily no state income tax(we prefer to pay insane sales tax on everyting lol). What do you all think my tax liability would be? I just did a direct write off on all uncollectable revenue even though i am not sure if that is the proper way to do it. I know its not much but it was really a better year then it looks like on paper i mean I am a full time student too so give me a break lol.

Expense Summary 2009 Revenue 2009
Equipment Expense $3,907.96 $17,052.50
Rent Expense $600
Supplies Expense $621.18
Miscellaneous Expense $723.97
Repair/Maintenance Expense(Equipment) $393.79
Marketing Expense $266.00
Mileage 1183
Total Monetary Expenses $6,512.90

Income Statement 2009
Revenue $17,052.50
Subtract Expenses
Equipment Expense $3,907.96
Rent Expense $600
Supplies Expense $621.18
Miscellaneous Expense $723.97
Repair/Maintenance Expense(Equipment) $393.79
Marketing Expense $266.00
Income Before Taxes $10,539.60
Mileage 1183
Tax Liability ?
Income After Taxes

topsites

LawnSite Fanatic
Man...

You're way better off paying for this program called Turbo Tax, it's worth every penny
because even thou those numbers look pretty good from my end unfortunately I still
haven't a clue what someone at the IRS might think or what the tax liability would be.

So, get Turbo Tax. :p

Last edited:

Richard Martin

LawnSite Fanatic
You may have to pay 15.3% of adjusted gross income for SS taxes. http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98846,00.html#3