If you could only have one mower….

EVLC

LawnSite Member
Hello

Long time lurker but first real post. I have run a lawn care business on the side with my full time job for the past 3 seasons. My goal is to gradually grow that I may be able to go full time in the next 5 years and have about 15 accounts right now.

Currently I have a 26 inch mower as well as a 42 inch toro timecutter. I only use the 26 inch mower on 2 or 3 properties so the toro gets the most use. I would like to upgrade to an actual commercial mower towards the end of the season. In a perfect world I would get a 52 and 36 but only have a 5x8 trailer so maybe that can be a goal down the road when I have a bigger trailer.

My question is if you could have one type of mower would it be a walk behind with sulky, stander, or zero turn? Also, do you have any preference on the size of the deck? I have never used a stander before but part of me says stick with a zero turn for bagging. I only bag one yard but I was thinking leaf clean ups may be easier if I could bag them versus doing everything with a blower and a rake.

I don’t have any huge yards, most may be around 10,000 square feet. Any input you may based on your experience would be much appreciated.

kemco

LawnSite Fanatic
Look
If you had
One mower
Or one opportunity
To mow everything you ever wanted
In one moment
Would you mow it
Or just let it go?
Yo

Stander hands down. I run both zeros and stander. Stander will be more versatile.

Hurryupelectric

LawnSite Silver Member
You mentioned a 5x8 trailer, I loaded a 36” stander, 30” Turfmaster and Honda 21” on it. Now I run a 36” stander, 32” snapper sw15 and Honda 21”.
F04DACEC-51F0-45D4-AD16-E44CA921B64A.jpeg

I only added the tongue platform because I like having the Honda at easy reach. The Turfmaster obviously has been replaced by the 32” but the general arraignment is the same.

D7EDCBDC-C135-4765-A00C-5F2ADFBD9E03.jpeg