• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

I'm starting a Lawn Business. What Equipment do I need?

jhogan20

LawnSite Member
Hello,
I am new to the forum and need some advice. I have been a graphic designer for the past 15 years but used to do landscape during my college summers. I recently was given the oportunity to take over some commercial lawn maintenance accounts & decided to start a part time lawn care business. I currently own a push mower, a Yard Man 42" auto drive lawn tractor w/bagger, a gas powered trimmer/edger & gas powered blower. All of this is stuff I use for my home use. I realize that I will need to upgrade to some commercial equipment but I have no idea what brand, size or style? Also, I am on a buget at first so I only have about $3000 for startup cost. I will be responsible for spring cleanup, mowing,edging,shrub trimming, & fall cleanup.
Also, I will be working solo to start with.
Thanks for any advice!

mowerbrad

LawnSite Fanatic
Well, $3000 is an extremely tight budget if you going to be getting all "new to you" equipment for your business. Let me start by saying that if these commercila properties aren't too big, use your yardman mower for a couple weeks, just to get some extra money coming in and maybe increase your budget a little bit.