Is there a mower on the planet that will cut THIS?? (see attached photo)

mcusa

LawnSite Member
Please have a look at the attached photo, and let me know what mower(s) you think would have the best chance of cutting such tall, thick grass with the least amount of stragglers. Here's more info:

* I'm not a lawn professional, but I mow about 5 acres weekly. However, one property (with lots of bahia) only gets mowed about every 2-3 weeks.
* Looking for a fully commercial zero (not residential or pro-sumer grade)
* Preferred deck size is 48", but I may be able to make 52" work
* I'm thinking mid-mount would work best. I've had a front-mount Walker side discharge for several years, and it's been a good mower. Lately, been using a family member's Bad Boy MZ, and I also like it.
* I prefer a high engine size-to-deck size ratio (the 27 hp motor on our Bad Boy MZ, with 48" deck, seems to be quite powerful. A mower with a 30hp motor & a 48" deck would be awesome, but I don't think any manufacturer over-horsepowers to that extent.
* Must have a push-pedal, as I use it constantly to feather the deck to prevent scalping.
* I cut a fair amount of bahia, and sometimes it can get out of control. Can you offer suggestions on one, or more, mowers that would have the best chance of mowing moderately thick bahia grass at a decent speed with the least amount of stragglers. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 20210723_182547.jpg
    20210723_182547.jpg
    729.5 KB · Views: 301
  • 20210723_183008.jpg
    20210723_183008.jpg
    616.5 KB · Views: 298

Valk

LawnSite Platinum Member
In a single pass??

Grasshopper, Scag, Deere.

OP
M

mcusa

LawnSite Member
In a single pass??

Grasshopper, Scag, Deere.

* I've been scouring the forum, and I'm considering a Scag Tiger Cat. Many forum members say the Velocity 2 deck is THE BEST at cutting thick bahia in one pass. Would you agree with that?