Is this a very good deal?

mikehurt88

LawnSite Member
So I'm thinking about starting a lawn mowing service. I have no experience mowing lawns other then just doing my basic families. I just want to do something where I'm outdoors and for right now on a part time basis as I have a decent job where I work 4 days on 4 days off and have full insurance.

I've been reading alot about starting out but theres just so much its hard to take everything in. So to start out I just want to ask about this deal that someome is selling locally and see what you guys thought brand wise and price wise.

This younger kid wanted to start a lawn mowing business last year and talked his uncle into buying him all the equipment and would pay back after he made the moneky. Will the kid never mowed but 2 or 3 lawns and decided it wasn't for him. His uncle purchased a new Troy Built ZTR 50" cut with 25hp that now has 13 hours, a 12" Tandem axle trailer, and some aluminum ramps for loading....They are asking $3000 for everything or $2400 for mower only.

Just wanted to see what you guys thought about the brand of mower its self and if the price was worth it since its fairly new.....I've considered offering $2500 for everything. Also as I said I'm just thinking about starting up and I have the cash to purchase this equipment but is it really to much for me to just be starting out with no clients yet?

Any help or info would be great and Thanks for everything you guys post on here it has really helped

32vld

LawnSite Gold Member
Troybilt went belly up and are made by MTD so their not as good as they used to be. For that price sounds as if it was a box store model not commercial grade. But we all have to start some where.

Thing is find out what this mower sells for new and the same for the trailer.

Then go back and offer them 1/2 of what the new price was.

easy-lift guy

LawnSite Gold Member