Just cant give it up!

theyatesies

LawnSite Member
Here is my situation. I keep toying with the idea that I want to mow full time again. I am a PE teacher and have been mowing for 17 yrs. There was a 4 yr stretch that I mowed full time and tried to take it a step further. For unexpected and uncontrolled circumstances I went back to teaching and mowing. I have the best job in the world(PE Teacher) but I enjoy the freedom that mowing gives me. I have learned, the hard way, that I am not going to be rich mowing but neither being a teacher. Mowing just seems to make me happier. Now I have read plenty on LS about people that would trade mowing for just about anything and so on but I also think that a lot of LCO's have a dream that just falls a little short (like me) and think its time to move on. Well I basically just spend to much money on what I think my family and I need and that ,IMO, is where the problem starts. SO, a new way of thinking!!! Spend less and then you dont have to make as much. With a spouse working and lets say total expenses per month are $2500 and you split that down the middle($1250 each) and now my half is $15k a yr. See where Im going with this. Many part time LCO"s with only 25 lawns can easily clear that after expenses and such. Yes I know about future expenses like new equipment, insurance increases, unexpected things and such. Been there done that I know 17 yrs remember. So sorry for the long thread but here is what I want you to comment on. HOW MANY OF YOU MOW BECAUSE YOU ENJOY IT AND ACTUALLY LIVE THE WAY I DESCRIBED? Just might quit teaching again thats all and would like your input.

Thanks, Lance

mike174

LawnSite Member