Killing Thistle

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by Anthony Divit, Sep 30, 2018.

1. Anthony Divit

Anthony Divit LawnSite Member
    from Pa

I use roundup quick pro and does that ok if I cut the tops of them off and spray it inside the stem. What are other people using and what is the results please?

2. Delmarva Keith

Delmarva Keith LawnSite Senior Member

I have a similar problem with thistles in a landscape bed. Apparently the owner let them get out of control at some point and the root system is now gigantic. I’ve been working that patch for a couple years. It grows with rhizomes and is hard to kill. Where they emerge in the lawn near the bed I’ve been using triclopyr. In the bed they get a shot of gly. Topgrowth dies but more keep emerging here and there down the road. Seems to be one of those long term battles.

Gly or triclopyr will kill young thistle plants. The size of the topgrowth doesn't seem to matter — it’s how old it is and how much is underground.

3. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

Canada thistle is a difficult weed problem in beds and shrubbery. Deep tap roots and spreads mostly by underground rhizomes( which can spread out up to 6 feet). If you cannot spray it, cut it off frequently with pruners or rose nippers. Comes back from the rhizomes. Time consuming. Try to never let it get taller than 6 inches. Do not let the top send food to the roots. Got to get down and crawl under the bushes. The taller the top--the deeper the tap root. Dig out any that are easily accessible. Cut off any that are growing outward under the soil.
    I also suggest: cut off the main stem and inject it with Roundup or triclopyr. Drill a quarter inch hole in the cutoff stem and fill it with herbicide.
    Actually, as an experiment, try drilling a quarter inch hole in the stem at a slant and fill it with herbicide. Use a small hand sprayer--maybe there will be no need to cut it down.