Leaf Vacuums worth the Investment?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by Ottawa Lawn and Yard, Dec 2, 2019 at 10:10 AM.

1. Ottawa Lawn and Yard

Ottawa Lawn and Yard LawnSite Member

Hello From Ontario, Canada

I’m new to the industry(1 year) and I’m a one-man operation, the bulk of my work has been mowing and leaf clean-up. I’m looking into investing in either a Billy Goat Residential Leaf Vacuum(I’ve been eyeing a used KV 650 H) or a DR residential model as well. I’m just wondering what is everyone’s thoughts on any of these machines or any type of residential leaf vacuum in general?

Currently I’m doing a lot of leaf blowing with my BR600 BP, and Stihl hand blower, but I’m picking up and bagging up the leaves by hand(paid hourly), but I’m looking for a faster and\or more efficient way in order to squeeze in an extra job or two per day. On bigger jobs, I haven't had any issues getting help if I really required it, but I’m mostly on my own.
    I’m aware how these machines are ideal when the leaves are dry, but also how they can slow you down when the leaves are wet and the bag filling up fast, but with these obstacles is it still worth my investment?, will it help me save some time on residential clean-ups?

Our City offers curb side pickup, so there’s no need for me to invest in any offsite removal at this point in time.
    Would love to hear anyone’s input and recommendation as well and feel free to share any other tips and tricks for a friendly Canadian newbie.

It’s nice to see how this forum displays many different professionals inputs, ideas and experiences. I'm learning quite a bit just by reading through some of the blogs.
    Looking forward to your comments.

Thanks

2. NLPS

NLPS LawnSite Member

Depends on what area of the city you’re in. Usually I just mulch the leaves up with the ride on and if I can’t do that then use the push mower and bag them. Look into a walk behind vac from Little Wonder or billy goat possibly.