Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm trying to get everything legitimized and get an LLC and get license and all that kind of stuff, but the only thing holding me back is 4 years of verifiable experience which I do not have. It looks like I won't be able to do any work over $1,000 without this licensing, and my prices and size of jobs are starting to grow a lot bigger than they were a couple months ago. I'm starting to get calls about doing all kinds of projects that that would exceed the $1,000 limit range.

So if I spread Rock and it's 1200 bucks I'm not legally allowed to do it, seems kind of crazy and I'm sure I'll get tons of backlash on this cuz I know there's all kinds of small things that people can screw up on but this is not going to be a workable business model if I have to go work for somebody else or do a bunch of piddly jobs for the next 4 years. I have a welding degree and have spent 6 years in the field and I was considering doing welding over Landscaping but the Landscaping boom hit so big this monsoon season and there was so much work around that I just took advantage of it and made a bunch of money in the process, so I figured maybe this would be the way to go, but maybe I'm wrong and I should just go back to welding which is going to cost me a lot of time and money to set everything up since I just moved and I don't have a shop, but I don't want to be stuck making 200 bucks a day or less when I could be making alot more doing bigger jobs.

I guess weeding out the shysters is what the licensing does, but I have been on plenty construction sites that proves that isn't true. All in all, life is too short to wait that long to make good money and I gotta figure out what direction is best. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
19,623 Posts