1. Is Landscaping An “Essential Business” In Your Region?
    Read the timely article from Turf addressing this question. Click here to learn more.

COVID-19 Safety Procedures For Landscapers
    As you are working out in the field, maximize safety for you, your crews, and customers. Click here to learn more.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for advice after I received my Soil Test

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Mbrown2858, Mar 15, 2020.

1. Mbrown2858

Mbrown2858 LawnSite Member

I moved into a new house and recently just got the soil tested. Based on the results my Nitrogen was high but pH, Potassium, Sulphur, Iron, Managnese, and Zinc are low. I was looking for advice on where I should start and what to apply? I’m new to the lawn care game and was wanting to get it going in the right direction. I’m open to any recommendation. Thanks in advance!

1B7CB036-6144-47D1-B6FE-1AD0011C8A85.png

B7F6F84F-44BE-420F-B50C-7D3588D20109.png

2. kemco

kemco LawnSite Gold Member

I'd start with lime. But the lime will most definitely take some time to bring your pH up it needs to be done because if your pH is off your turf won't be able to fully utilize any micros you add.

hort101 and Mbrown2858 like this.
  3. windflower

windflower LawnSite Bronze Member

What is the preferred ph range of the turf you are growing? That is pretty low but some can deal with it. Higher would be better. Except for the zinc nothing else is that big of a deal. Pecan fertilizers are a good source of zinc.

hort101 and Mbrown2858 like this.
  4. kemco

St Louis area... And consideration of the results reading that an optimum pH is closer to neutral would make me assume you stated you have a tall fescue lawn? Again guessing. When we send our soil to the lab we list what we are growing or want to grow in some cases so that the recommendation will apply. If bermuda or fescue on mine id ideally like to see it in the low 6s.

Mbrown2858 and hort101 like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Mbrown2858