looking to step it up

stotts1

LawnSite Member
hello all, im a school bus driver from huntington, wv. i run a very small property management business with about 5 lawn accounts (actually have MORE snow accounts) and im looking to expand to @30 .it seems like everyone with a mower around here is a lawn care guy and the word of mouth jobs dont come very often. i could use some solid advice on marketing, what works best, what not to waste my time on and any odd or unusual techniques that are working for you guys. LOVE THIS SITE! thanks in advance, Glenn

OP
S

stotts1

LawnSite Member
thanks bear, i appreciate the offer. pat is an outstanding ball player, it was a real treat to be able to see him perform at the high school level, not to mention mayo and the others as well.

matt spinniken

LawnSite Senior Member
My suggestion would be to start out with doorhangers. Try a company like www.48hourprint.com and put out as many as you can in areas that you are interested in.

Make sure that the design of the hangers reflects the kind of business that you want to have. For example if you want to serve a higher-end market print out very high quality hangers with good design and don't put big coupons all over it.

If you are serious about expanding, a goal might be to have 10 new marketing tactics. e.g. new biz cards, company shirts, lettered truck, simple website, etc.

QualityLawnCare4u

LawnSite Gold Member
When I first saw the name thought you was David, a guy with your last name who moved from my area few month ago and also drove a school bus. He also moved to your area in WV.

OP
S

stotts1

LawnSite Member
If you are serious about expanding, a goal might be to have 10 new marketing tactics. e.g. new biz cards, company shirts, lettered truck, simple website, etc.