Mow and go - what's a fair price in a relatively poor area?

JokerOfAllTrades

LawnSite Member
I'm sure to raise the ire of a few people here by talking about "mow and go", but I never really had any aspirations of doing lawn care. I'm a musician whose longtime business was destroyed by COVID and I have no idea to what extent it'll come back after COVID resolves, if it ever resolves.

I'm going to college for a master's degree in counseling. For now, I'd like to find a way to make a few extra bucks, and I do have a fancy new zero-turn at my disposal. I'm not interested in fancy landscaping, chemical weed care, pesticides, whatever. I basically want to do for other people what I do for my own lawn - lower the height of the grass every week or so.

In this area, people don't have a ton of money. To give you an idea, there's another mowing service down the road from me, and the guy's 1990's-era truck barely runs. Somehow, though, he gets mowing gigs. Stands to reason that they're out there, and one of the local lawn services just went out of business when the owner moved to Florida.

I'm looking for NON-SNARKY opinions about what prices I ought to quote, from people servicing the same general type of area. Tell me what you'd charge for a mow-and-go, let's say for a small lawn and then for something that's a few acres. (I can finish my 1.3 acres in 0.7 hours on the counter, according to my mower.) So instead of a few acres, maybe think of it in terms of something it'd take you two hours to do by yourself. Assume that there wouldn't be an unreasonable number of obstacles / mow-arounds.

Even if you're not the type to do mow-and-go's regularly, assume that you found a customer who wanted only that. Sometimes people want only the basics.