Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was an LCO for 4 years back in the mid 90's, so I had a pretty good idea what I was getting into when I left my high paying oilfield job earlier this year to get back in. Starting from scratch - no equipment, no customers etc. Accounts have been tougher to come by than I would have previously thought. Even though the area is saturated with LCO's, there is green everywhere you look here and it grows 9 months out of the year. Somebody has to cut it, right? My in is and has been that I am a mature professional and my skin is not brown. Surely this will be an attraction to some. Certainly a departure from the norm around here. Yes it has worked some, but not to the degree I had thought a certainly. Not to offend anyone here or elsewhere, but it is a reality, and one I had opted to try and take advantage of. There are white Americans that are willing and actually love to do this type of work.

We all have different markets and different classes of clientele. Starting out, most of us will accept accounts knowing that we will shed them as the business prospers. Not meeting target labor dollars, PITA, less than desirable working conditions etc. We even extend credit with the hopes of being rewarded with payment. Seven months back into it, I see some significant changes have occurred over the past 12 years. Accounts are obviously harder to come by, customers don't seem to show any respect for the trade, and your left wondering who is going to screw you next. I had to terminate 3 residential contracts with a realtor today for nonpayment. Payment due at the beginning of the month, and here it is the 27th. Excuses.... .excuses.....BAMM - your terminated MF. This is the 4th time I've been bit this year. Just chump change until this one comes along for 1K. Courthouse here we come.