Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please advise ! I am looking at a SCAG. There are a lot of people that would say Kawasaki is the only one but I am VERY interested in the Honda 24hp.

I do not want to dispute Ford vs Chevy, but am looking for feedback from people with Honda engines.

This is happening ....... possibly today, please reply NOW !?!?!?!

Summary - HELP ?!

·
Registered
6,354 Posts
Oh yes you can go wrong. The larger honda motors suck. Had one, never again. I would strongly suggest the kawi or kohler.

Do a search, me and others have post problems here before.

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
i have never had problems with larger Honda engines, and I used to be a mechanic at a local shop. Most of the problems that occur are from owner neglect, and not the machines problem.
Trust me, you cant go wrong with either.

·
Registered
6,354 Posts
Originally posted by saw man
i have never had problems with larger Honda engines, and I used to be a mechanic at a local shop. Most of the problems that occur are from owner neglect, and not the machines problem.
Trust me, you cant go wrong with either.
Trust me from an end user that makes a living with them, you can go wrong with the honda. Wasn't owner neglect either.

I'm a diehard honda supporter on small engines, just not the big ones. Anything 13hp and up.

To each his own I guess. I'm not attacking you sawman, hope you don't see it that way. :)

·
Registered
309 Posts
I agree with Hoss, I bought his mower that had the 13hp honda and the motor is the pits, getting parts takes forever and are more costly due to the name. carb issues with gas leaking out the float all the time, low power compaired to Kawi motors, very particular on how clean the fuel is.

to top this off this was on a HONDA 36" WB mower. the mower was very poorly designed.

As Hoss said do a search if you want more info from him or me on honda large motors.