New Construction=Trying to establish new yard as a noobie

Fette

LawnSite Member
Good morning all!
An old mowing client just moved back here to Indy and bought a new house. Builder did sod in front, seed in back. Sod is looking good, seed is struggling. Builder used straw then put that plastic matting over the top to hold the straw in place and at this stage, I am struggling with what to tell her to do. Here in Hamilton County, most new yards are clay beds (they strip the good toppsoil off an sell it) and part of me wants to get my aerator out and just till her yard up, re-apply seed, cover with peat and add starter fert- basically start over. However, not looking forward to digging that plastic mat stuff out of my aerator or risking her $$$ when at this stage, it may make sense to just wait until fall. She has a sprinkler system and would be diligent but I am new to the fert and seed side of the business so any thoughts you all are willing to share woud be appreciated!

Thank you!!

RigglePLC

LawnSite Fanatic
Indiana has good soil. Clay is fine--if you can grow corn--or --for that matter weeds--you can grow grass. Plenty of water and plenty of fertilizer should bring it around--if she irrigates every day.
Expect weeds of course--summer annuals and the usual tall weeds that occur with a new seed situation. Most of those weeds can be killed with a weed control application later in the summer. Tall weeds do not withstand mowing. Summer weeds and crabgrass do not withstand winter--in any case.
If she will spend the money, feel free to broadcast additional seed. Sow 6 pounds per thousand sqft, since you will not be able to till the soil nor aerate. Seed with a higher quality mix--darker green and more disease resistant.
Do not bother with peat moss--it does not help.

Fall is good--but if it is irrigated--summer is fine as the soil will be warm for quick germination.

OP
F

Fette

LawnSite Member