1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

New seed struggling ....

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by CapeWillard, Jun 17, 2008.

1. CapeWillard

CapeWillard LawnSite Member

Newbie here. I seeded (Jonathan Green Black Beauty) approx 13,000sq.ft at my home 5 weeks ago (Cape Cod, Massachusetts). The soil was decent sandy loam. I did a lot of Bobcat work so I was nervous about the site being too compacted. Because of this I tilled up the entire yard, re-raked and spread the seed w/ a broadcast spreader. I put down a little less than 100lbs of JG Black Beauty seed along w/ JG Starter Fertilizer w/ crab grass preventive. I also applied lime the same day. Germination started on day 9 and has continued slowly. Right now I am a bit disappointed as the entire yard has grass, but it is very thin and seems to be pretty weak. Also, what has come up is growing extremely slow. I don't have any blades longer than 2". I know the current condition of the lawn is due to in part to runoff and the fact the site isn't perfectly level which has created small pockets. I have an irrigation system and have kept the area moist this whole time. I have been watering up to 6 times a day (approx 8 mins each zone) until last week when I decided to cut back a bit and see if that helped. I am at a loss of what to do now. I have kept off the lawn until now b/c I am afraid if I walk on it now it will die under my feet. When I grab a blade of grass it pulls out rather easily. Should I re-seed? If so w/ the same seed or try something different? What about slicing new seed in ... will the machine tear up and kill what I already have? Should I re-apply starter fert? Any ideas? I'm at a loss of what to do here. Thanks for reading.

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic