New To Fert....Please Help

SullysAllSeasons

LawnSite Member
I have been running a small lawn care/landscape company for 6 years now and up until this year it has been just a side gig. For the 2012 season I am going to try and make a full time run at it. I have worked for lawn companies over these past 6 years but everyone I have worked for has been so secretive about the fertilizing aspect of the business. Basically what I am asking for is if anyone can give me a lead on where I can either take classes or would be willing to train me in the Twin Cities area. Anything you can provide helps. Thanks!

Smallaxe

LawnSite Fanatic
http://outagamie.uwex.edu/files/2010/05/Lawn-Care-Tips-2.pdf

You are in the 'cool-season' grasses area, so I would check out a cool-season extension office document that says things , you wouldn't normally hear...

"Apply no more than one pound of nitrogen per 1000 square feet at each application. One-half of this rate is all that is needed in shaded areas."

"Never fertilize in April through early May; you will be fertilizing the weeds that are starting to sprout instead of the lawn."

"grass turns a darker green and foot prints can be seen in the turf, it is water stressed. To remain green and growing, irrigate at this stage."

In this forum, you'll be told that you NEED pre-m and fert premixed product and BOTH go down as soon as the snow is gone, in some cases...
It is important to notice that pre-m really isn't needed b4 mid-May either, and in shade not even that soon...

Are you now looking to be "Full Service"?

fl-landscapes

LawnSite Silver Member
Axe, I realize you have a couple pet subjects like "chemical barriers" and timing and or use of pre m but I have to disagree that most on here apply prem and fert as soon as the snow melts. Can you find me some posts of who makes a practice of doing this? Tgcl maybe, guys on this forum not so much.

http://outagamie.uwex.edu/files/2010/05/Lawn-Care-Tips-2.pdf