New to Lawn Care Need Advice

sonnycook4

LawnSite Member
Good Morning to all.
I am new to the Lawn Care Business. I just retired from Active Duty Army ( 30 years, 5 months, and 14 days), but who's counting now! I need some advice, this is what I have for equipment and what I have completed so far business wise; '99 Dodge 4x4 3500, 16' duel axle trailer, gravely z-turn,gravely w/b, 21hp gravely tractor, push mower, 2 echo weed eaters, edger, 2 husqvarna backpack blowers ( all commercial grade) all used, good working condition and paid for. Oh, and my two Sons as part time partners. Business wise I have business license, formed LLC, have general liability insurance (1million), workmen's comp, vehicle and equipment insurance. I did cost analysis, market analysis of the three counties I plan to service, completed business plan. Overhead is covered for 4+ months. I am thinking of offering a discount for military, senior citizens and public servants ( police and firefighters). I will not low ball to get accounts, Quality is worth the price. have posted flyers and business cards in area. have received a few calls and from those calls 15 service agreements are signed and ready to begin servicing in mid March. That's Me so far. My questions are what else equipment wise should I be thinking about? Do I really need a CPA starting out or will a book keeper be OK ? What software do you all recommend? ( Yes I am a southern boy) so its you all. ANYTHING I'm missing PLEASE HELP!!!

mowerbrad

LawnSite Fanatic
You seem to have your bases covered when it comes to equipment. For basic lawn service you have everything you should need except for an edger, which isn't necessary as you can use a string trimmer, but they are nice to have. Otherwise, you have a pretty good setup.