• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

New to ride-ons - how do you mark your passes?

DA Quality Lawn & YS

LawnSite Fanatic
Guys,

Am going to nail down a used PG for use this coming season. Simple question (I AM a ride on rookie).......how do you keep track of your passes if you do not use a foamer marker OR dye? Are the tire tracks generally easy enough to see so that the proper overlap is obtained? Is there a recommended pattern to spray in to assist with this?

Just questions that pop into my mind as I have time this winter to ponder them........

DA

Runner

LawnSite Fanatic
I use an Ultra SE and what I do is do the first lap (counterclockwise) with my deflector down and spraying if open enough area permits, otherwise a separate lap for trim spraying. Every lap after that, you throw until the prills hit to the center of the tracks of the previous lap. Each lap, you spiral towards the inside. You will get a perfect throw and perfectly distributed application every time. The only variable you will have is if you have either a cut-off point - due to obstacles, or a narrower row when you get to the center of the area. Sometimes, depending on the width of this last pass, you can cut it with the deflector, or run a full width. On cases where there may be more objects and such, do two passes. I do the counterclockwise circles to throw my fert, and then go the opposite way for my spray (when I'm blanketing). This way, you don't get the tracks confused with your last pass.

Grandview

LawnSite Gold Member
If you do not blow a .08 in the morning when you go to work you should be able to see your tracks just fine. That was just to easy, Larry but I could not resist. With fertilizing and spraying there is room for error. At times your track will be hard to see.

RigglePLC