• Landscape Lighting Design: Bright Ideas
    With outdoor spaces more popular than ever, lighting these landscapes may be your next opportunity. Click here to learn more.

newbie advice. gas leak

BeeCreekLawns

LawnSite Member
I have a 21" Toro 20036 Personal Pace Super Recycler. I got this used and when I put gas in it, the gas slowly drips from under tank. When I push the primer bulb it just feels like air. Won't start. I am a newbie and trying to learn this stuff so please anything will help. I tried googling but couldn't really find an answer. I am thinking it isn't a cracked gas tank because it would still start if it was, right. could it be the fuel filter? It worked at the end of last season without leaks. I need to learn, please help. :hammerhead:

DT Lawn Care

LawnSite Senior Member
I have had two of these mowers, 6.5 hp Briggs right? Dripping from UNDER the tank could imply bad/cracked gasline. Dripping from ON the tank would imply a cracked or a hole in the gas tank. This can be fixed easily with JB Weld. But yes, the mower should still fire up. Remove the air filter and spray a shot of starting fluid or carb cleaner in, the pull the rope, it SHOULD at least give you some signs of firing. If not, you will have to go into the carburetor and check it out. These mowers are not hard to work on, it was probably the best Personal Pace model that they have ever made. Please post results, and good luck.

OP
B

BeeCreekLawns

LawnSite Member
damn, I love this site. Don't have carb cleaner. I will get some tomorrow. Anything else you could offer about this machine would be great. I know basically nothing about maintenance, but I am trying to learn. thanks.

OP
B

BeeCreekLawns

LawnSite Member
I don't have an owners manual, just checking to see what kind of oil you would recommend for changing on this. There should be a drain on the bottom right?

OP
B

BeeCreekLawns

LawnSite Member