• Online Events For Landscapers!
    With GIE+EXPO cancelled, virtual education and product launches are filling up the fall. Check out dates for Caterpillar, Exmark, NALP, and more. Click here to learn more.

Palm tree care

Hotty Toddy

LawnSite Senior Member
Palm trees are not a common plant material in Little Rock, but they seem to do well in the landscapes I’ve seen.

I have no experience with palms. A client has about 10 very tall palm trees that have been in the ground for a couple of years.

where’s a reputable source of information that would help me? Are there unique nutritional needs they require to flourish? Water requirements? Pest problems? Pruning schedule?

I know many of you live in areas where these are endemic. I’d appreciate your input.

RussellB

LawnSite Fanatic
Palm trees are not a common plant material in Little Rock, but they seem to do well in the landscapes I’ve seen.

I have no experience with palms. A client has about 10 very tall palm trees that have been in the ground for a couple of years.

where’s a reputable source of information that would help me? Are there unique nutritional needs they require to flourish? Water requirements? Pest problems? Pruning schedule?

I know many of you live in areas where these are endemic. I’d appreciate your input.
I don’t do anything to palms except removal of dead fronds and flowers/fruit. Never touch the very center new growth. If cut that area the tree will die. You should start by identifying the palm type. Sago palms can have all fronds removed and most likely where you are the winter would turn all of the brown. They sprout back fairly quickly.

RussellB

LawnSite Fanatic