1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

Patio paver estimating help

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Akprocter, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Akprocter

Akprocter LawnSite Member

I am looking for some advice about estimating patio paver construction. I am fairly new to the bidding process for this type of work. I am figuring around $4.00 sq ft for the materials (using Belgard Cambridge cobbles @ 1.75 Sq Ft). I am just not sure how to bid the prep and install portion. One of my suppliers said he heard that $10-12 per sq ft (total of $14-16 sq ft total w/ materials) was the going rate, but that seems a bit high to me. Any advice in this area would be extremely helpful. I would like to get the job but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot either.

2. Dr.NewEarth

Dr.NewEarth LawnSite Bronze Member

Does your supplier have a competitor and can you check their prices?

Did you try looking here in the hardscape forum?

They can grumble a bit when you go in there, but they're harmless.
    And good information....they're full of it.

3. lukemelo216

lukemelo216 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from ...

dont bid by the square foot. And I will tell you why. Type equipment photos into the search bar, and do the titles only. Look at ETWmans thread. Hes got a project going on doing a paver patio on a roof where materials need to be craned in etc etc. By the looks of it Id say the patio is in the 1000-1500 range. You need to sit down look at the job, what it requires, and then bid it from there. Because 1 job might be extremely difficult to access with machines, require a lot of cutting, lots of hand work, etc which might turn your sqft price into $20-25 or one where you have very few cuts, lots of space for machines, etc and could be at $12/sqft.

4. Akprocter