Paying employees cash

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Johnny79, Oct 19, 2017.

1. Johnny79

Johnny79 LawnSite Member
    from Jersey

How do we compete when my worker tells me his friend gets paid 150 a day cash they want the same thing WTF.

I have to work harder and do more lawns and probably make the same amount of $
    As the ones sending there guys out and the boss isn't working
    WTF

It's every company over here

How does this stop?

2. dieselss

dieselss LawnSite Silver Member

What happens when he gets hurt on the job and company won't cover him?
    Tell your employees your playing by the rules and they are not. One day they will get bit in the behind

3. flashsmith

flashsmith LawnSite Member

I run solo. Considering hiring in the spring. I do not agree with the practice but lets look at the owners side.. First off there's absolutely no reason for a lawn care operator to "invest" in an employee. I say this because for 20 years I was a golf course manager and turnover was and still is a huge problem. Our type of work is low paying, hot and it never ends and under valued.. Why invest in someone who more than likely won't last a month or two before they bail or get fired. I know many won't like this but thats the way it is. The only people that will work for you are dropouts and head cases anybody with drive will not stay long..

marcusmac99 likes this.
  4. North Idaho Dream

North Idaho Dream LawnSite Senior Member

Yea, there is no way that we will employee anyone without insurance. We even insure our 2 boys that work for us and in Idaho you can exempt insurance on direct family members. They enjoy the work and do not want to go to college yet....
    Another thing to let your employee know is that his income is reported which is a good thing because in the event that he is hurt or disabled then it's on his record. I wonder if they 1099 their employees?
    Paying cash is a slippery slope...That company is taking a huge risk!!