*Please help with Holiday lighting questions*

Discussion in 'Christmas Trees & Seasonal' started by Vivid Lawns, Sep 20, 2014.

1. Vivid Lawns

Vivid Lawns LawnSite Member

Hi everyone,

Not sure if this is the right place to post this but I couldn't find a place specifically for Holiday lighting. My name is Chris and this is officially my second year in the lawn care business. Last season I had two jobs so the "offseason" wasn't a big deal but this year I'm looking to get into Holiday lighting which I've read can be very lucrative. I've done some research but it seems some questions just never get answered and I would like some other opinions as I have no knowledge or experience in lighting. If someone would be willing to take the time to educate me in this part of the business I'd greatly appreciate it!

Do the clients usually have the lights they've purchased themselves and then put up by you, the client buys them from you and keeps them, or do you rent them to the client?

How do you charge for lighting and how much?
    I've read some charge by the hour, by the foot, and by per light. If per light, do you charge more for bigger lights such as C9?

What type of lights and where do you buy the lights usually?
    I've read some companies by the cord and the lights separately, cut and light them to fit the exact needs of the house. I had no idea that this was even an option. Where can I find more info on how to do this?

Are the universal clips usually what are used? How are the lights on the eaves of the roof put up and how do they stay straight?

Do you typically try to use one string to line the entire house?

Do you usually price everything at the beginning? Such as installation, removing, timers, etc.

That's all I can think of at the moment but if anyone feels like I missed anything please post. I know it's a lot of questions but I greatly appreciate anyone taking the time out to help. Thanks in advance!

2. Morgan Higgins

Morgan Higgins LawnSite Member