1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns in the Franchising forum plus sign up to receive a FREE eBook on how to grow your landscape business.

Dismiss Notice

Pond install question.

Discussion in 'Water Features' started by Quality SR, Aug 9, 2007.

1. Quality SR

Quality SR LawnSite Member

Hello guys, I am a newbie here. I have a question on installing a plastic pond. I have a plastic pond with 2 feed pipes and 2 return pipes coming off the pond. On the filter (Hayward) I have 1 spot for the feed and 1 spot for the return. My question is, can I use a "Y" fitting for the 2 feed pipes and the 2 return pipes coming off the pond? If not can i get away with sealing off one of each off the pond and just use the 2? Instead of 4. Also the threads off the 2 pipes from the feed is 1", the thread off the filter is 1 1/2" can i reduce this to work? Also, I am putting the pond in an area that is open. I don't want the filter and pump sticking out like a swore thumb. Can i pick up a Street Lighting Box and put the pump and filter underground? Like i said I am a newbie here, I can take pictures of what i am talking about but i don't think i can post them. Either way any help would be great. Thanks in advance Rich

2. Quality SR

If anyone has any info please let me know i am starting this project tomorrow. The pond is aprox. 5' L x 3'W x about 2 1/2'D. It is not an oval it is an odd shaped pond. Also if i can cap off 1 return and 1 feed let me know if that will work for that size pond. The person i bought it from had a smaller pond above this larger one. I don't know how he had it hooked up. Any info please let me know. Rich

3. me1223

me1223 LawnSite Member

This is a small pond so you should be fine, with only using the one in and one out, I suggest going with the two furthest apart. Pictures would help because I may have misunderstood some of that.

4. Quality SR