• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Possible relocation to Florida-where to buy existing routes?

lawnsaspire

LawnSite Bronze Member
Hello there, posted this in another section as well, as i wasn't sure quite where to post it. I have been operating a lawn biz in Illinois since 2007. My wife's parents are talking of moving to central Florida after retirement in a few months. Her sister already lives there. She is very close to them as am I, and if they do this we would like to go as well. And before anyone says,, "don't start a lawn business in Florida..etc", I may not have a choice. I have only known lawn care for 14 yrs now,, and i have done very well with it. I would like to keep doing this in Florida, as I do enjoy it, and also realize i have no experience with anything else,, and my wife has been a stay at home mom all these years. I have looked on Craigslist and see several businesses for sale in that area. Also on a couple of business broker websites. I would rather buy an existing route than starve for a year while trying to start something, but the prices being asked are very high it seems. Are Craigslist or these broker sites a good place to look? I know there is a section for Florida only, but I can't seem to find it, if anyone might also direct me there. Thanks for much for any help or thoughts.

Last edited:

scagman52

LawnSite Senior Member