Pricing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by JR3Services, Aug 12, 2017.

1. JR3Services

JR3Services LawnSite Member

first of all- hi!
    I'm new to all this and just started a mowing business this year.
    A lady called me to mow her yard, after the last people let them hanging.
    The yard is approx 4.2-4.4 acres. A app I have says that should be a $200 yard
    I'm scared that they will turn that down but I'm not sure how to price it. It has a lot of trees to trim around (50+). Just mowing and trimming.
    Would 160-180 be a fair price??
    Located in a Michigan
    Thank you.

2. marcusmac99

marcusmac99 LawnSite Senior Member

How much is your time, equipment usage, expenses and profit margin worth?

3. JR3Services

JR3Services LawnSite Member

I'm only doing this part time so profit margin doesn't need to be huge. But I need to make money. I was figuring at most $20 in gas so that would leave 140-160 on the table. For equpment and my time. Idk I just feel bad like I'm ripping people off. I make $20 an hour at my work so I always figure that is the least I can make for my time when I mow.
    I know I'm probably stupid

4. sbronemann

sbronemann LawnSite Member

If they want it mowed, they will have to pay fair price to have it done. Or, they can buy their own equipment and their own time to do it themselves. Those are their two options really. Never feel bad about your pricing unless you are pricing a lot of properties and not getting any takers. Then you need to rethink. 4.2-4.4 is a big lot, especially with a lot of trimming. I know trimming doesn't use much fuel or equipment, but a lot time.

Grass Bass likes this.
  5. Gumplawn

Gumplawn LawnSite Member