Production Rates

Discussion in 'Bidding, Estimating and Pricing' started by landscapedesignpros, Feb 11, 2019.

1. landscapedesignpros

landscapedesignpros LawnSite Senior Member

Ive been landscaping for 16 years and have used unit pricing the entire time. all of my pricing is based on I charge X per sq ft of pavers, walls, concrete, grass, grading ect. To be rather honest I really never paid any attention to productivity as I was the one on site setting the pace. We got each project done when we did and I knew we did it in the fastest manner possible as I was there. Well last year I finaly made the jump to not being on site and having a forman. I didnt have set production goals so while another business venture made up for it, my profitability in my landscaping business suffered. I am currently going to a production based estimating system completely based on hours. This is not a post to ask how much to charge its a post about production rates.

Im looking for some good places to help do checks off my production rates.

40 linear feet/ hour of laying brick edging in mortar
    10 linear feet / hour of digging the trench for edging
    you can mix 70 linear feet per hour worth of mortar
    40 linear feet / hour of setting concrete form work
    ect.

Where is a good place to see these rates to be able to check my production rates against somthing other than my brain as I really dont want to get into the season and need to be massively adjusting these or realizing too late in the year that Im priced too high or too low. Im expecting to need to tweek it but would like some place to check against while Im basicly building all of this from scratch.

hort101 likes this.
  2. landscapedesignpros

also yes Im checking them against my unit pricing but would like another sourse

hort101 likes this.
  3. hort101

hort101 LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from S.E. New England