• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Question about measuring

ShooterK2

LawnSite Senior Member
I'm new to mowing for the public, and not very good at estimating distances. I've got, and plan on using, a measuring wheel. My question is: When you measure a property, do you measure the entire thing, then subtract for the buildings, driveways, etc.? Or do you measure the front yard, then the back, then the sides seperately? I don't want to cheat anyone, myself included. Just wondering what the standard procedure is.

topsites

LawnSite Fanatic
Eyeball it and learn from your mistakes, you'll look the fool with that wheel,
nobody uses those things except maybe some new guy so throw that POS
in the garbage or hang it on the wall as a memento of elaborate thought.

Last edited:

starry night

LawnSite Platinum Member
Eyeball it and learn from your mistakes, you'll look the fool with that wheel,
nobody uses those things except maybe a few new guys so throw that POS
in the garbage or hang it on the wall as a memento of elaborate thought.
Yeh. It's kind of like the new golfer who goes out on the course with a pull-behind cart. Real golfers tote those bags.

topsites

LawnSite Fanatic
Yeh. It's kind of like the new golfer who goes out on the course with a pull-behind cart. Real golfers tote those bags.
That's it, so then you can tell from a mile away who the new guy is.
And it's not about being laughed at, believe me that's the least of your worries,
but like training wheels on a bicycle when you're running a business you just don't need that,
actually better off falling flat on your face a few times, harsh as that might sound.

You might want to start out by determining the size of some yards such as your own,