Questions for Scag V-ride owners!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing Equipment' started by Masterscapes_llc, Mar 19, 2017.

1. Masterscapes_llc

Masterscapes_llc LawnSite Member

Im considering purchasing a scag Vride. I have never used one before but I have heard/read good things about them, and the cost seems to be good. In my area, the lawns are an average of 3/4 acre but some are around 1-1.5 acre.

I was wondering if these machines are geared more toward small lawns? Are they slower than other scag ZTRs? Do your legs get easily fatigued? Im unsure about standing for 1 acre lawns, or all day for that matter. I also do not want to slow down production as I will be working solo. I would be purchasing a 61" deck model. If you have experience with the V-ride, please let me know before I invest in one. Thanks in advance.

2. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

I am not a big fan of 61" on vride don't see how you can feather deck to get smooth cut. Our vridces are 48" and 52" and we are very happy with them, Young legs can stand vride old guy uses Turf Tiger,

hort101 likes this.
  3. Mr Stripe

Mr Stripe LawnSite Platinum Member
    Male, from Seymour Missouri

I cut a bunch of 1/2 acre yards solo, 48" V-Ride. I love mine, it doesn't fatigue my legs, I'm 32 yrs old. I like that I can hop off real quick & grab a stick or piece of trash. They're fast machines IMO.

zlandman and hort101 like this.
  4. hort101

hort101 LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from S.E. New England

I guess bigger isn't always better :)

Mr Stripe likes this.
  5. Mr Stripe

Yeah I like the 48"s & 52"s,. As far as a V-Ride iv got no experience in anything larger.

I know KNOXgsl has a large Vride, maybe he'll chime in.

hort101 likes this.
  6. Mr Stripe

Actually I think his is a 61" I'll see if I can get him on here.

hort101 likes this.
  7. Steve

Steve LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from NE FL

Oh lord here we go again :laugh:

hort101 and Mr Stripe like this.
  8. knox gsl

knox gsl LawnSite Fanatic