REDMAX BACK PACKS ( shindaiwa echo stihl)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing Equipment' started by Cut blow and go scape, Jan 12, 2020.

1. Cut blow and go scape

Cut blow and go scape LawnSite Member

Hi
    I've been using backpacks professionally since 1982. RedMax took over the market from echo in my area in th late 80's. RedMax hasn't stood the test of time. after two years (just after warranty ) they start failingI. I'm not happy with the product anymore (and I have five of them right now).
    My buddy switched to Stihl (do to redmax not lasting long enough) but I don't feel they have enough power (and the carbs suck). my last run in with echo left me un happy.
    I've heard that shindaiwa made a four stroke that used 2 stroke mix but didn't last either.

Please ( without defending the products I don't like if possible) recomend a large back pack blower that you've used for up to four years without needing to be overhauled and fixed. ( I change my plugs and filters regularly)

Spring clean ups last a month and fall clean ups here in North jersey last a month. From may through October we blow off 100 driveways ( which isn't much) and dec Jan Feb and march they aren't used.

Thank you for reomendations on a good back pack

Ed

2. sjessen

sjessen LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Knoxville, Tn

Hello Ed.

I use one of the brands you mentioned. That said, from your post it seems none of the brands are all that reliable.

What she are doing is selling their units just prior to the warranty expiring for 50% or more of new. I recently did this with one of mine. Purchased a new unit during a 20% off sale and sold the other at a fair price.

Just a thought.......

Crazy 4 grass likes this.
  3. hort101

hort101 LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from S.E. New England

Whats causing these previous problems?

Echo has been good for me reliable most issues I've seem to be fuel related ime

What size back pack you looking for?

Doc8406 and sjessen like this.
  4. cold-beer