Renting Equipment

rjk512

LawnSite Member
Hi...

As I said in my thread on the "Introduce Yourself" forum, I'm a high school student starting to do landscaping as a high school job, slowly easing into it over the next few months hopefully. I've done plenty of work with friends with more established companies as well as family.

I have a question that could probably be answered by many on here... Regarding renting construction/landscaping equipment. A friend of mine rented a mini excavator yesterday for his house that we used to backfill and level a trench as well as take out a few stumps. The whole idea of him renting the machine and us getting the job done with so much ease really peaked my interest. Because I am still a student and don't have a huge fully established company, let alone lots of cash to make an investment on such a machine, renting or borrowing are my two really legitimate options.

So, I have a question for those who have had to rent equipment such as backhoes and mini excavators (or whatever the case may be) - How do you guys charge the customer for having to rent such machines? When quoting the job out, do you tell them then and there that you're going to need the machine and that they have to pay for the rental fee, do you split it two ways, or do you just incorporate it into the price you give them and not say anything? What's the best way to do this?

Any answers/feedback or discussion on the topic is welcome. I'm just looking for ideas/input.

Thanks.

wbw

LawnSite Fanatic
If you are providing the customer with a lump sum bid (Ex. I will furnish and install plants a, b and c for $X) then it is not going to be a line item in your bid that they will ever see. If you a bidding time and materials (Ex. 4 plant A's at $227 each, 2 plant B's at $192 and 6 plant C's at $207 plus 16 hours labor at $28 per hour and equipment rental of $502. Sub-total $3384 plus 15% profit and overhead equals Total $3891.60
Posted via Mobile Device

Ditta&Sons