Retaining Wall Problems - Help!

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Jordan White, May 10, 2020.

1. Jordan White

Jordan White LawnSite Member

Hey, everyone, I am not a professional, but hired someone to install a retaining wall around my property. I believe they installed my retaining wall the wrong way, the easy way, and it is going to cause a major problem. They did not bury the first level of stones on one entire side of the yard. They actually elevated it with sand, 4-6 inches of sand on top of the road base. Can you take a look at this and let me know if this is actually going to work or if I am going to have some major problems? You can see the large stack of sand under the wall on that side. I am super worried this is going to collapse considering we have children who will be on this wall and a lot of neighbors with kids by the wall too. Any advice will be helpful. Thank you!

IMG_9257.jpeg

IMG_9258.jpeg

IMG_9259.jpeg

2. LonestarLandscaping1

LonestarLandscaping1 LawnSite Member
    from Texas

We are assuming that it is not engineered?

As far as the front edge detail with the sand, as a homeowner I would 100% refuse to accept that job. From your picture, it appears sloppy.

As far as safety, I think it will be safe to play on, it will lean over time as the sand washes out rather than all at once I would assume, but nonetheless it would be wiser to mix portland with the base and not use 6" of sand.

Is there a reason they tried to raise it up the 6"?

hal and Crazy 4 grass like this.
  3. OP
    OP
    Jordan White

It is not engineered. It is about three feet tall at the brightest point and just two feet in this area. You’re right it is sloppy, that sand is spilling onto the neighboring properties, so that’s not great. I think they raised it just to avoid digging out a base for the lower level, to keep it level with the row coming from the higher part of the yard. My understanding is that you should always have the first row buried.