• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Right of Way Mowing

destinsb

LawnSite Member
Hey guys, new to the site. I have some questions that hopefully you guys can help with. A little background first, I am a contractor and with the economy being what it is I am looking to diversify. I have an opportunity to bid on some commercial mowing contracts for the DOT (actually for a sub of the DOT)
Most of these ROW's are in rural counties here in Florida. Is this work profitable?
I am getting mixed messages from Tractor dealerships on whether this is work I should pursue or not.
What kind of rates per acre are some of you seeing for this type of work. I have an idea of what I think it can be done for but some input would be helpful.
What are the most economical tractors/mowers in your opinion?
How many acres a day can I expect from a 20' batwing?
Thanks in advance for your responses!

MikeKle

LawnSite Platinum Member
There was another post like this recently. I knew a guy who had the Covington to Louisville, KY mowing account, it is around 90 miles and he did the median and entrance and exit ramps, the one thing to remember about these accounts is anyone can come along and underbid you at anytime! and to handle these accounts, you must have a lot of equipment and will be in debt for years, if you loose the account after a year or so, it will ruin you probably. He was making $75K per mowing and did it only 3x a year

Heavyduty1

LawnSite Member