• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Scag, Hustler, John Deere

TurnerLawnCare

LawnSite Member
Ok, i've narrowed it down to 3 ztr.

1. Scag Tiger cat. Kawasaki with the 48 in. velocity+.

2. Hustler Z4 kawasaki with the 48 in deck.

3. John Deere 910 with kawasaki and the 48 in. 7 iron pro deck.

all about the same class. All 3 are great dealers and are really nice to me. All between 6500 and 8000 or so.

mowerbrad

LawnSite Fanatic
I'm a little bias toward John Deere, so between the 3, I would choose the Deere.

I have no first hand experience with Hustler, I know they make a good mower but the cut of the Hustlers just don't stand out to me.

Scags are another well built brand, but are very long in length. And the velocity decks are good decks from what I hear. I have never tried one nor seen one in my area, so I can't speak from any experience on them.

I'm buying a Deere this spring for a number of reasons. But Deere has the legendary 7-iron deck, which I think is one of the top decks on the market today. They also have great parts availability (yes, you usually need to go to the dealer for them) and if the dealer doesn't have them in stock, they can have parts for you over night if need be.

overtime mp

LawnSite Member
I would go deere also. I like the hustler but the high priced around here. John deere is like only 4 miles away also. Not sure on your other one. Good luck to what you choose and a good season.
Posted via Mobile Device

blakerugg

LawnSite Senior Member
i personally dont have experience with any of those brands, but around here everybody who isnt using exmark is using scag, if that helps...i think scag probably has the best deck too. again its a very "limited opinion" lol good luck, happy shopping

RTR Landscaping

LawnSite Senior Member