Second Round to being successful

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Mike O'Connell, Mar 5, 2019.

1. Mike O'Connell

Mike O'Connell LawnSite Member

Well I started out back in spring of 2010 and went up to 2012 doing all resedential homes.
    Did some landscape, did some foundation work and did some rock work as well. I was working a full time job as well while cutting 15 or so lawns my first year out. I finally got smart and offered gutter cleaning as a service and made a killing.
    My first year out I made enough money to buy all equipment so I had two of everything, I was running Husqvarna back then, a 36 foot ladder, a trailer in the fall for 1300 on sale at tractor supply, a snapper snowblower from Ace hardware. I made alot of money off of one ad in the newspaper. I got business cards as well .

Second year I bought a pickup a 1979 4x4 Ford used of course. I graduated up to more customers only allowing enough so I was busy but could also work my other job, which was 55 hours a week. That year I bought a real JD 115 tractor and put a thatching tine in front and made some money in the spring during clean up weather. I was a hungry guy. Dedicated wanted to do this full time because I was making enough to where I almost made at work. I really considered it as an option. Still getting calls off of 1 ad again in the newspaper. I live about in 120,000 population town. I wanted to crack skulls out there, take names, ask questions later type of guy. I was really into it. My job didn't agree with me tho. So you know the story get canned lose job which makes me even more pissed off. Continued to work even harder no job left behind.